FTF (x2) and a few more finds

11 01 2009

Yesterday morning, RPSwiney and I braved the elements and headed out into the rain in hopes of finding some new caches in the area. The hides had been activated around 2am on Friday which forced me to sit at school all day and hope that no one found them before I got a chance. Luckily, no one did, but when Werner and myself looked for one of them (Cachville 3) we came up empty. We had our eyes on a few further south (see Found three, made four) and passed on the other two in the Cachville series by BlkFt. So, with the caches remaining unfound by Saturday morning, we decided to give them a shot, starting with Cachville 1 rated as a 2/1. The 60CSx led us to a spot in a parking lot very similar to the area where Werner and myself had searched the day before at the other site. Noticing this, I had a pretty good idea of where to look. My idea was right, and I found the cache in very good hiding spot. It took a modified paperclip to extract the container, though, which may give you an idea of where to look if you choose to do so. Once I had the container in hand, I pulled out the logbook and saw exactly what I wanted to see: no names. The Stoogeteers finally had a FTF, which I must say feels pretty good.

Riding the momentum, we proceded onto Cachville 2, also rated at 2/1. This one was exactly like its predecessor, and our second FTF. Feeling exceedingly confident, we headed over to Cachville 3 to give it another shot. With both of the day’s finds being in the same series and being hidden in the same manner (a manner I’d neglected to check for the day before) I was pretty sure we’d get FTF number three in the Wal-Mart parking lot. I was wrong. After searching everywhere you would think a cache would be, we came up empty and decided to end our search as a DNF (sad, I know). The day didn’t end on a sour note, however, because we were able to nab one more smiley before heading home: shoebuster, rated 1.5/1.5 by legm.

Then today, finding ourselves in the vicinity of some caches we hadn’t tackled yet, RPSwiney and myself (this time accompanied by my cousin, a first-time geocacher) headed out again to grab a few more finds. First up was Stone Walls, a 1/1.5 by JoGPS & Family, which was followed shortly by 31-441 (1.5/1.5 by Tennessee Traveler). Neither took too terribly long to locate and both gave us good opportunities to explain the sport to our rookie tag-along. Even better, today’s two finds help me out on one of my New Year’s resolutions: to find at least one cache a week this year. Now, I’ve relieved the pressure for the rest of the week, though I’m sure I’ll find some time to get back out on the hunt at some point. Thus, the weekend of caching comes to a close. Final tally: 5 finds, 1 DNF, and 2 FTFs.

Halpert


Actions

Information

Leave a comment